document branches better
authorIan Kelling <iank@fsf.org>
Thu, 24 Oct 2019 21:27:38 +0000 (17:27 -0400)
committerIan Kelling <iank@fsf.org>
Thu, 24 Oct 2019 21:30:04 +0000 (17:30 -0400)
README.FSF

index 37e0ce9..5bd71b5 100644 (file)
@@ -20,6 +20,15 @@ instead generated from the .in file by running make configure. Note,
 make configure must be run from /home/mharc (checkout into that
 directory on your local system).
 
 make configure must be run from /home/mharc (checkout into that
 directory on your local system).
 
+Ansible pulls a branch with the name of the current hostname, so lists.gnu.org
+is an alias to master, and lists.dev.fsf.org is an alias to lists.fsf.org.
+This was achieved by doing for example:
+
+vcs.fsf.org $
+sudo -i -u git
+cd /home/git/repositories/mharc.git
+git symbolic-ref refs/heads/lists.dev.fsf.org refs/heads/lists.fsf.org
+
 The lists.fsf.org branch should be rebased to any changes from master, like this:
 
 git checkout lists.fsf.org
 The lists.fsf.org branch should be rebased to any changes from master, like this:
 
 git checkout lists.fsf.org
@@ -45,4 +54,4 @@ unique string into the header where the list name goes, copied it to
 
 for x in */NMZ.head; do sed "s/gachJefyeonJoa/${x%/*}/g" /tmp/NMZ.head>$x || { echo failed on $x; break; } ; done
 
 
 for x in */NMZ.head; do sed "s/gachJefyeonJoa/${x%/*}/g" /tmp/NMZ.head>$x || { echo failed on $x; break; } ; done
 
-This process can be repeated for more changes.
\ No newline at end of file
+This process can be repeated for more changes.