Let /dev/null have normal permissions.
authorPhil Pennock <pdp@exim.org>
Mon, 17 Jan 2011 02:54:53 +0000 (21:54 -0500)
committerPhil Pennock <pdp@exim.org>
Mon, 17 Jan 2011 02:56:06 +0000 (21:56 -0500)
The 4.73 fixes were a little too stringent and complained about the
permissions on /dev/null.  Exempt it from some checks.
Reported by Andreas M. Kirchwitz

doc/doc-txt/ChangeLog
src/src/readconf.c

index e27496b..0780fc7 100644 (file)
@@ -22,6 +22,11 @@ PP/01 Bugzilla 139: Documentation and portability issues.
       Avoid GNU Makefile-isms, let Exim continue to build on BSD.
       Handle per-OS dynamic-module compilation flags.
 
+PP/02 Let /dev/null have normal permissions.
+      The 4.73 fixes were a little too stringent and complained about the
+      permissions on /dev/null.  Exempt it from some checks.
+      Reported by Andreas M. Kirchwitz.
+
 
 Exim version 4.73
 -----------------
index 118ccf5..0b78958 100644 (file)
@@ -2875,9 +2875,9 @@ else
   }
 
 /* Check the status of the file we have opened, if we have retained root
-privileges. */
+privileges and the file isn't /dev/null (which *should* be 0666). */
 
-if (trusted_config)
+if (trusted_config && Ustrcmp(filename, US"/dev/null"))
   {
   if (fstat(fileno(config_file), &statbuf) != 0)
     log_write(0, LOG_MAIN|LOG_PANIC_DIE, "failed to stat configuration file %s",