Fix memory leak on (Gnu)TLS close.
authorHeiko Schlittermann (HS12-RIPE) <hs@schlittermann.de>
Wed, 23 Nov 2016 11:02:26 +0000 (12:02 +0100)
committerHeiko Schlittermann (HS12-RIPE) <hs@schlittermann.de>
Wed, 23 Nov 2016 13:17:41 +0000 (14:17 +0100)
This leak doesn't show up under normal operation, as the process
normally dies right after closing the session.

But during callout repetitive TLS sessions are opened and closed from
the same process (the process receiving the message). Depending on
the amount of RAM and the number of callouts the same process does,
this may be a problem. (On an amd64 machine with 4GB RAM, at about 1000
recipients the memory is exhausted.)

src/src/tls-gnu.c

index 0dead1c..10bfaca 100644 (file)
@@ -1836,6 +1836,7 @@ if (rc != GNUTLS_E_SUCCESS)
     tls_error(US"gnutls_handshake", gnutls_strerror(rc), NULL);
     (void) gnutls_alert_send_appropriate(state->session, rc);
     gnutls_deinit(state->session);
+    gnutls_certificate_free_credentials(state->x509_cred);
     millisleep(500);
     shutdown(state->fd_out, SHUT_WR);
     for (rc = 1024; fgetc(smtp_in) != EOF && rc > 0; ) rc--;   /* drain skt */
@@ -2130,6 +2131,8 @@ if (shutdown)
   }
 
 gnutls_deinit(state->session);
+gnutls_certificate_free_credentials(state->x509_cred);
+
 
 state->tlsp->active = -1;
 memcpy(state, &exim_gnutls_state_init, sizeof(exim_gnutls_state_init));
@@ -2199,6 +2202,8 @@ if (state->xfer_buffer_lwm >= state->xfer_buffer_hwm)
     receive_smtp_buffered = smtp_buffered;
 
     gnutls_deinit(state->session);
+    gnutls_certificate_free_credentials(state->x509_cred);
+
     state->session = NULL;
     state->tlsp->active = -1;
     state->tlsp->bits = 0;