Logging: add log_selector items in the default config. Bug 1333
authorJeremy Harris <jgh146exb@wizmail.org>
Sat, 6 Jun 2015 20:43:29 +0000 (21:43 +0100)
committerJeremy Harris <jgh146exb@wizmail.org>
Sat, 6 Jun 2015 20:48:40 +0000 (21:48 +0100)
doc/doc-docbook/spec.xfpt
src/src/configure.default

index c6b1e1b..8dab2a4 100644 (file)
@@ -5598,6 +5598,13 @@ find that they send unqualified addresses. The two commented-out options:
 show how you can specify hosts that are permitted to send unqualified sender
 and recipient addresses, respectively.
 
+The &%log_selector%& option is used to increase the detail of logging
+over the default:
+.code
+log_selector = +smtp_protocol_error +smtp_syntax_error \
+               +tls_certificate_verified
+.endd
+
 The &%percent_hack_domains%& option is also commented out:
 .code
 # percent_hack_domains =
index c16221f..fe08bc2 100644 (file)
@@ -249,6 +249,13 @@ host_lookup = *
 # and/or qualify_recipient (see above).
 
 
+# Unless you run a high-volume site you probably want more logging
+# detail than the default.  Adjust to suit.
+
+log_selector = +smtp_protocol_error +smtp_syntax_error \
+       +tls_certificate_verified
+
+
 # If you want Exim to support the "percent hack" for certain domains,
 # uncomment the following line and provide a list of domains. The "percent
 # hack" is the feature by which mail addressed to x%y@z (where z is one of