gen_pkcs3: add comment explaining rationale
authorPhil Pennock <pdp@exim.org>
Sun, 23 Dec 2012 19:23:01 +0000 (14:23 -0500)
committerPhil Pennock <pdp@exim.org>
Sun, 23 Dec 2012 19:24:05 +0000 (14:24 -0500)
Wondering why you wrote some code and having to grep the source code to find out,
in the same year that you wrote it, is generally a sign of missing information.

Fixed.

src/util/gen_pkcs3.c

index ae7e761..4be2c58 100644 (file)
@@ -7,6 +7,16 @@
  * c99 $(pkg-config --cflags openssl) gen_pkcs3.c $(pkg-config --libs openssl)
  */
 
+/*
+ * Rationale:
+ * The Diffie-Hellman primes which are embedded into Exim as named primes for
+ * the tls_dhparam option are in the std-crypto.c file.  The source for those
+ * comes from various RFCs, where they are given in hexadecimal form.
+ *
+ * This tool provides convenient conversion, to reduce the risk of human
+ * error in transcription.
+ */
+
 #include <ctype.h>
 #include <errno.h>
 #include <stdbool.h>