DNS lookups never use UTF-8
authorJeremy Harris <jgh146exb@wizmail.org>
Sat, 11 Apr 2015 17:08:18 +0000 (18:08 +0100)
committerJeremy Harris <jgh146exb@wizmail.org>
Sun, 12 Apr 2015 22:36:49 +0000 (23:36 +0100)
doc/doc-txt/experimental-spec.txt
test/dnszones-src/db.test.ex
test/stdout/0405

index 79b21fe..3dbf13f 100644 (file)
@@ -1288,7 +1288,8 @@ international handling for the message is enabled and
 the expansion variable $message_smtputf8 will have value TRUE.
 
 The option allow_utf8_domains is set to true for this
-message, but all DNS lookups are converted to a-label form.
+message. All DNS lookups are converted to a-label form
+whatever the setting of allow_utf8_domains.
 
 Log lines and Received-by: header lines will aquire a "utf8"
 prefix on the protocol element, eg. utf8esmtp.
index fec2a0d..ebf9a40 100644 (file)
@@ -38,9 +38,9 @@ dontqualify  A       V4NET.255.255.254
 
 UpperCase    A       127.0.0.1
 
-; A host with UTF-8 characters in its name
+; A host with UTF-8 characters used for its lookup ( π.test.ex )
 
-mx.π        A       V4NET.255.255.255
+mx.xn--1xa   A       V4NET.255.255.255
 
 ; A non-standard name for localhost
 
@@ -358,9 +358,9 @@ mxt97        MX  1  ten-1.test.ex.
 
 mxt1c        MX  1  dontqualify.
 
-; MX with UTF-8 characters in its name
+; MX with UTF-8 characters used for its lookup ( π.test.ex )
 
-π           MX  0  mx.π.test.ex.
+xn--1xa      MX  0  mx.xn--1xa.test.ex.
 
 ; -------- Testing SRV records --------
 
index 6b561f7..f5b5dce 100644 (file)
@@ -1,4 +1,5 @@
 syntax error: domain missing or malformed
-bounce@π.test.ex
+bounce@xn--1xa.test.ex
+    <-- bounce@π.test.ex
   router = r1, transport = t1
-  host mx.π.test.ex [V4NET.255.255.255] MX=0
+  host mx.xn--1xa.test.ex [V4NET.255.255.255] MX=0